Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Newbie Area is Important

• 483 posts
    March 8, 2017 1:35 PM PST

A really simplified version of the /help funtion (text box toturial) with the basics of the game and some suggestions to what the player must do to proggress in the game should (imo) be the toturial.

Some of the more basics and essential knowledge for the complete noobs :

- Combat - where it explains the combat and your main resources stamina/health/mana - it's tab targetting with auto-attacks and you use spells and skills, mob's health reaches zero it dies, your health reaches zero you die, Blablabla and soo on.

- NPC interaction - explains the consider (hostile/neutral/friendly) system and how to talk and interact with NPC's

and that's about it, i don't think a new player needs to know much more.

At the end of this super fast tutorial give some suggestions to how to proggress and maybe suggest some noobie are for them to explore. Like recomending grouping up with other players to actually kill mobs effectivly and explain them the death penalty when they reach a higher level.

Outside of this information i don't think new players need much more to go on an adventure and have fun, give them the tattered note and let them explore.

Then the more in-depth information can still be accessed trought the /help in the advanced information window.

• 1303 posts
    March 9, 2017 8:58 AM PST
    My problem with the way a lot of tutorials are implimented is that they incentivize doing the tutorial even if you dont need it by inflating rewards over those gotten thru normal gameplay. The tutorial leads to a short path achievement of a full suit of gear while providing inflated xp and advancements. It almost puts the player that doesnt go thru the steps at a disadvantage of power and level gains early on.