Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

What steps, if any, are being taken to avoid multi-boxing?

This topic has been closed.
    • 89 posts
    May 21, 2018 4:08 AM PDT

I recently started playing some Everquest again on the new TLP server called Coirnav. Supposedly that is a "one box" server where you are only allowed to play one account per PC. Apparently noone really cares about that and I consistently saw trains of 5 characters on auto-follow after another character. All of them played by the same guy.

Is this something we will see in Pantheon?

Personally I am extremely opposed to multi-boxing. Not because I can't do it, or can't afford to do it, but because multi-boxing creates a wide array of issues in an MMO. Especially a group-based MMO.

Why would I be opposed to multi-boxing?

It reduces the amount of people actually grouping together. This happens in two ways.

1) The person multi-boxing doesn't need a group.

2) Someone with 'boxed' characters are taking up a spot in a group that could otherwise have been filled by an actual player.

When there are less people grouping together it starts a downwards spiral where more people then get frustrated from being LFG so much, so they become encouraged to make their own multi-box setup so their preferred character always has a group or the very least an option to keep getting experience from "soloing" using boxed alts to help them.