Forums » Off-Topic and Casual Chatter

Hard Core vs Casual

• 120 posts
    June 25, 2015 8:06 PM PDT

I've seen it posted a couple times here and I thought I would just clarify my view on it.

There are a lot of people who have the opinion that this game can be divided into 2 categories of players. Hard core and Casual. Which is very true. The confusion comes in as what is Hard Core and what is Casual.

They define Hard Core as playing 12 – 14 hours a day, 5, 6, 7 days a week. Those that don't/can't are Casual. That's their definition. Now, I always find it odd that never qualify that definition as to what they're doing for 12 – 14 hours a day as compared to what the casual player is doing. So let explore that.

I started playing MMOs with EQ in late 1999 and I had the good fortune to be on one the very original servers, Veeshan. It's now Luclin – Stromm, for those that don't know. It was also home to one of the 2 guilds that owned most of, if not all world firsts. I'll get back to them in bit.

I have always worked 5, sometime 6 day a week, so as rule I had 5 hours Monday – Friday and 10 – 12 hours Saturday and Sunday. By definition, casual and in terms of real time took me longer to reach level 50. In terms time /played I had the same amount of time /played as any other level 50 wizard. Since everyone did the same thing from 1 -50. how many hours a day doesn't really matter.

After level 50 that's where it makes a difference. Me? I raided. Started out raiding 2 maybe 3 nights week and ended up raiding 5 sometime 6 nights a week. If I XP'd it was on Saturday or Sunday. Meaning that a good portion of what it took to get from 50 to 70 came from raid XP. Wasn't the most efficient way to level, but hey..