Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Item/Feature creep towards macroville

• 2 posts
    March 15, 2019 7:49 AM PDT

I've been playing EQ since 2000.  I'm not in a high-end raiding guild but we do have fun testing out the raids.  One of the things I began to detest about EQ was the eventual march into using macro's in game or macro utilities to be the "best dps" or as our tanks put it, "when i engage I need to enable 11 different buttons just to survive being hit for 70K."

The casters have bags of clickies they put into their macro feed for an extra 10% here, 5% focus here, epic click here ect..  To me, this has ruined the end-game play.  When I'm told (as a Necro) that pulling 262K DPS against Doomfire is "good but not great" and a guild member wants to help me "with your macros" the game has become less about having fun that it did.

Do the developers see this as a future for Pantheon?  As expansions go will there be "just more AA's" to buy to get more skills which in a fight become impossible for a person to control and have to resort to macros to play?

It''s what I hate about using Gina.  When the boss encounters require it as there are 9 different things you need to be aware of (event wise) it kinda ruins the gameplay.

Maybe I'm just old...

• 627 posts
    March 15, 2019 8:01 AM PDT
    I do hope we can make tekst macros like. "pulling %t get ready"..

In many mmos macroing turned into an I win bottom, where players could activate multiple buffs with athe click of one bottom, and then use one big nuke and do mega damage in a blink of an eye. These i win makros ruined a lot of games for me, specially in pvp scenarios. So I hope we are listed to tekst macros, and all skills and so on are activated by the player as normal.

Hotkeys im happy with it provides a lot for player preferences and playstyle. Some like to use mouse bottoms, some use numpad and so on. I hope players can cosmetics Hotkeys as they want.
    • 3852 posts
    March 15, 2019 8:16 AM PDT