Forums » Off-Topic and Casual Chatter

Home-Brew

• 294 posts
    September 10, 2017 5:35 PM PDT

Geeesh, All this time on my hands waiting has got me trying something new.

I like playing Dwarves, so I'm enterring the world of brewing my own beer.

Going to try my hand at an Oktoberfest/Marzen this week. My very first home-brew. I'm excited. Hope it doesn't bomb... Wont have results for a few weeks to come, but will try to check back in here to let you all know how it turned out.

Any other home-brewers out there?

• 21 posts
    September 10, 2017 7:20 PM PDT

Try combining a cask, 2 elven wines, a red wine, and a white wine to make faydwer porter. should be trivial around 115.

But in all seriousness i've just finished a stone ipa clone from craft a brew that turned out pretty good, i've been brewing for about 5 years now.

• 624 posts
    September 10, 2017 7:52 PM PDT

When I was fresh out of school I rented a house with three other guys and the basement was a great place for our alcohol lab.  Two of us experimented with wine making, the other pair were into beer.  Lots of boiling hops and barley, mashing the wort, selecting fruit juice varietals, adding brewer's yeast, cleaning five gallon glass carboys and stainless steel kegs, capping/corking bottles, making up fancy labels for our runs, giving away samples to family and friends. It's been years now, but your post brings back memories of great times.  I am now thinking about making a Pantheon Pale Ale.

Good luck my friend, enjoy the art - and have fun with your creations (even if one crashes - everyone has a failure now and then).

• 1399 posts
    September 10, 2017 9:41 PM PDT

Years ago I was into it pretty heavy. Dark beers, Porters and Stouts. I ventured into a few Ciders and even brewed up a Honey Mead a few times. Bottled into bottles first then Growlers and eventually i bought a fridge and 5gal kegs.