Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Public API?

• 7 posts
    July 1, 2017 8:45 AM PDT

I've been searching for information on a public API, but it looks like it hasn't been posted yet. I'm a developer and one thing I love is to make community sites around the games I love. I'm trying to keep my expectations down to earth, but it's obvious that Pantheon will be the best game ever created, and I'm already looking forward to building applications around Pantheon data, whenever that becomes available. However, I haven't been able to find any information on a public API.

I'm assuming that nothing will be available at launch, but I'm hoping to hear some information if anything like this is being planned for the future. Are there any plans to expose data such as character data, world data, item data, etc? Thanks.

• 168 posts
    July 1, 2017 9:06 AM PDT

I would wager the most VR would be willing to let through an API would server status, server population, and things in that realm. The devs seem to be pretty set on keeping the world of Terminus secret and mystereous. As such, I do not see them spending time writing an API to access character info, items, POI, quests, factions, mobs, drops, etc.. They will want you to get in the game, travel to the location to kill the mob and hope that item drops so you can see what it is and possibly keep it.. or possibly throw it off the balcony of ToRM.

• 9115 posts
    July 1, 2017 9:53 AM PDT

We have discussed this internally a while ago and the decision is at this stage not to release a public API, for a few reasons, but we plan to review this decision further down the track when it is appropriate. We have to wait and see what information we allow to go through the client first, so this would probably be something we discuss again during testing.

• 801 posts
    July 1, 2017 6:20 PM PDT

I completely agree with kilsin on why we should not have anything to do with external information or even connecting to the servers.