Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Raiding: Open World, Instances, & Zerging

This topic has been closed.
    • 9 posts
    February 15, 2017 8:17 AM PST

I couldn't find any post regarding this but I just wanted to post something up which I think will be the biggest road block in for game once released for casual players & guilds.

I used to hate the idea of instancing until I started playing EQ on an instanced TLP server. The ability to schedule raids and take your time with targets has been very fun. I'll be honest, it isn't as rewarding as killing an open world target, but at least I get to kill some raid targets now without having to wake up at 3AM for my only chance at doing so. It definitely has its Pros and Cons. Open world raid targets and the competition for them is an adrenaline rushing & possibly rewarding experience (if you win). It also causes a lot of grief to the more casual player. This can be both good and bad and something difficult to balance.

One of the concerns brought up during some of the live streams was have guild "A" dominate all raid encounters to where guild "B" never has a shot at any raid encounters. The Devs states that they are aware of this potential issue and will ensure that there is so much content available, it shouldn't cause an issue. I played EQ back in the day. BoTs was on my server and I never saw an open raid target for a very long time, and when we did, we usually couldn't defeat it in time before another guild would come in and steam roll the target because of the gear difference. A lot of content isn't that great of a solution if guild "A" keeps all targets on lockdown. Don't downplay the hardcore players, they will find a way.

I also recall the Devs talking about the possibility to stop Zergs by having raid mobs retreat, or bring friends when a Zerg is attempted. I love this idea, and it sounds like it could be complicated to implement, but I think it's a start.