Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

The development phase needs an Injection of energy

• 88 posts
    October 21, 2023 9:42 AM PDT

When I was a business consultant. Assessing low morale was my specialty. Especially in this modern world of corporate legalese where we lose touch of our civility, empathy, and humanity.

Game design is a very mutually beneficial industry. You create a world we all wish we could explore. You gain monetary compensation in exchange for creating a popular product and/or service. Often times developers become legends, as Brad McQuaid was himself. The world you create brings us joy, indirectly creating relationships, and bringing us all closer together in specific ways 

I hope the Devs understand that nobody in the community legitimately hopes for them to fail. I hope the community understands that the Devs fear failure more than anyone. Giving the devs a hard time doesn't boost morale. Them withholding crucial information, changing designs, or scrapping simple plans also doesnt boost morale. So, everyone is in a more vulnerable state than when it started. And it's been that way for a while since Brad passed.

But, this game isn't just another AAA studio cash cow this genre has been plagued with for the last 15 to 20 years. It's a passion project, that has been underfunded since the beginning. Overworked, underpaid, and underappreciated. Typical feelings with such a monumental project with such a limited but talented crew. Unfortunately we live in a finite world. Finite time. Finite resources. Finite patience. And, as a consequence of battling this, low morale.

But, as I stated, I was a business consultant. I didn't brown nose. My job was to go in and assess, and tell people what they didn't want to hear.