Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Community Debate - If you had the chance to change one thing

• 2756 posts
    September 20, 2019 2:24 AM PDT

vjek said:

In a word? Monetization is what I would remove.

In more words:  I would return first sale doctrine, eliminate SaaS, DLC, and similar concepts.  Overall, selling the game as a product instead of a service would be my goal. 
    When it was a product, it was better, historically.
    There's nothing wrong with "Master of Orion", and then "Master of Orion II", but this concept of never-finished games with launch day patches + continuous DLC, I think it's purging anything good from video games as a product.
    As a software developer myself, I treat the development process as a creative act, and the result as art.  I don't believe art should be monetized, personally.  I know others feel differently, but that's my opinion.

I think you are very right.  SaaS works great for some (mostly business) apps.  It is having a horrible effect on the gaming industry and hobby.

• 238 posts
    September 21, 2019 12:38 PM PDT

If I had to change one thing it would be player reliance at the early levels of gameplay. So many games are solo until you reach max level then find a guild to raid in. It becomes a very lonely leveling experience and it seems to reduce the value of other people. There used to be a time when your reputation with other people mattered just as much as your skill with your class. Nowadays its all about who pulls the bigger numbers and the mentality of "What can you guys give me" and not "What can I provide my team with".