Forums » Crafting and Gathering

My thoughts on tradeskills

• 28 posts
    April 13, 2016 9:42 AM PDT

I'm just going to appoligize now, I know this is a wall-o-text post but I felt the need to post my 2cp.

I have been playing MMOs for 17 years and in every MMO I gravitate to the crafting system, some have been good others horrible.  The same can be said for the “harvesting” systems of those games.  Like most others here I have ideas of what I want to see and what I don’t want to see in the crafting system of Pantheon, in the end we all just have to trust that the Pantheon team will take the best options from these forums to create a superior crafting system.

For “harvesting” I’ve seen people talk about deconstruction, killing and harvest node style but I haven’t seen anyone mention the vendor purchased mats option.  

Personally I’m not a huge fan of the harvest node style as it can really ruin the environment and immersion of the game.  It also floods the market with the common items and the value of them is substantially decreased.  

Deconstruction can work but I’d be concerned about the impact of that on the sacrificing of items for buffs mechanic that is planned.  It may still be a viable option but it would really depend on how the sacrificing works and if the buffs are really worth it vs just breaking the item down.

I think the killing option just makes sense in this style of game, if you kill a wolf you should have the chance or some ability that allows you to skin it and harvest some meat from the body.