Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

This will kill Pantheon I fear.

• 844 posts
    March 17, 2016 10:59 AM PDT

As a long time gamer, a game industry insider, technologist and Pantheon/Brad fanboi this is my expectation of what will destroy Pantheon.

BACKGROUND

I began playing MMO's with my eary entry into UO pre-alpha in 96'. Walking the first unpopulated isometric mmo world with no other players was a unique joy at the time. From UO I then transitioned into EQ beta in Sept. 98' was a new level of excitment as well. This was a new, never experienced before reality of gaming that I knew would be vastly successful.

Back in those days I worked in IT and enjoyed much of the best of things it had to offer. The best computers, biggest monitors, fastest dial-up (ISDN) and so forth.

Over the years that have passed I tried to play as many different types of games and MMOs as I could. And I can say I have played a large percentage of the MMOs that have come and gone(some of them).

A number of years ago I transitioned into working in the game industry which opened up better perspective on how the sausage actually gets made. I have met a number of people that were involved with those early games(still work with a couple) I played such as UO and EQ and have had a lot of fun reminiscing about those days. (One interesting tech note that probably explains why UO had such troubles was their original DB was a big flat file. :) )

So with that background and experience here is what I expect to see happen with Pantheon.

RIP PANTHEON

A game rendered unplayable by Bots, Gold farming, Gold Spamming, account hacking, client hacking, griefing and essentially downright rage-inducing activity.

This is the sad state of affairs for modern era MMOs.